fbpx

Rabbis of LA | Rabbi Zöe Klein Miles: A Writer Leading the ‘People of the Book’

Mixing literature and her Judaism is something that came naturally to Rabbi Klein Miles.
[additional-authors]
May 18, 2023
Rabbi Zöe Klein Miles

Last winter, Zöe Klein Miles, the senior rabbi at Temple Isaiah and the author of four books (the novels “Drawing in the Dust,” “The Scroll of Anatiya,” “The Goblins of Knottingham: A History of Challah” and the short story collection, “Candle, Feather, Wooden Spoon”), took a sabbatical:  She spent three months in a rustic cabin in Tennessee, writing. “I went there to fulfill a fantasy,” she told the Journal, to see “if I was a full-time writer.”

It’s a question she has wrestled with in her quarter century at the West L.A. Reform congregation. In 2009, when she was asked if she considered herself a rabbi or writer, she said “While the answer is clear in my heart, sometimes it is hard to speak it. I consider myself a novelist first.”

“I come to the rabbinate with a novelist’s soul … being a rabbi is field work for stories. Being a novelist is soul work for being a rabbi. They feed into each other.”

Asked today, she answers the question differently. “I am both. Today, I would not distinguish between the two. I come to the rabbinate with a novelist’s soul.” In many ways, she explained, “being a rabbi is field work for stories. Being a novelist is soul work for being a rabbi. They feed into each other.”