fbpx

Rabbi Cantor Alison Wissot: Engaging the Community with Music

Music helps Wissot fulfill her goal as a rabbi and cantor, which is to teach the meaningful tradition she has been handed. 
[additional-authors]
June 23, 2022
Rabbi Cantor Alison Wissot

Growing up, Rabbi Cantor Alison Wissot had a dream: She wanted to become an actress. 

After college, she got to live that dream, spending four years in New York City working in show business. However, it wasn’t what she imagined it was going to be like.

“I wasn’t happy,” she said. “The more I worked as an actress, the less happiness I experienced.”

Wissot returned to Los Angeles, her hometown, to decide what she wanted to do next. She sat down with Cantor Nathan Lam, then of Stephen S. Wise Temple, her childhood synagogue. She’d studied singing with Lam and sang at the bimah at the temple when she was a child. 

Lam told Wissot about a cantor’s mission to Israel, and she was intrigued. She went on the 10-day mission, and decided that she wanted to become a cantor.

“My Jewish identity was connected to my family and my synagogue,” she said. “I really needed to go and found out I love theater and acting, but it wasn’t what I was meant to be doing.”

Wissot received joint ordination as both a rabbi and a cantor, and for 17 years, she’s worked at Temple Judea in Tarzana. She also had the opportunity to serve as the cantor at Stephen S. Wise Temple, the place she first engaged with her religion. As a child, she enjoyed going to services there.

“When I was about six years old, there was a Friday night when my parents wouldn’t take me to temple,” she said. “I decided I would pack up my little purse and try to walk from my home in Encino up the hill to Stephen Wise. It didn’t seem that far when we drove. My parents picked me up from the curb and brought me to services.”