fbpx

Cosmetics Entrepreneur’s Success Raising Eyebrows Across U.S.

4Ever Magic Cosmetics, launched in May 2018, boasts 150,000 followers on its Facebook page.
[additional-authors]
July 15, 2022
Ravit Darougar. Photo by Abraham Joseph Pal

When Ravit Darougar arrived in America in 2009, she was shy and uncertain about her future. “I had high self-esteem in Israel, but it was exactly the opposite when I came here,” said Darougar. “[I was in a] new country [with a] new language.” 

Darougar’s first job was with a construction company, and her reaction could be a blueprint for all immigrants. “I needed to answer the phone in English,” she said. “I was like, OMG. How am I going to do that?” Darougar figured it out fast. 

“I had to build my self-confidence,” she said. “Slowly, slowly, they gave me jobs, the freedom to manage the office, even to do the union payroll. They did not teach me. I was self-taught. They were not in the office. They just threw me into the pool, the deep water. I started swimming.”

Darougar was always a hard worker as well as an entrepreneur. As a high schooler in Haifa, she and a friend planned a business. “We decided to sell toilet paper to restaurants since everyone uses it, and it is basic,” she said. “We made a list of restaurants, and we began calling them. But many of them did not understand what these 16-year-olds wanted from their lives, so it did not work out.”

“Once I had the experience and knowledge, I decided to create a makeup brand that customers could use as eyebrow kits that boost self-confidence.” – Ravit Darougar