June 26, 2019

‘Mrs. Maisel’ Is The Critics’ Choice

“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” continued its winning streak Sunday night at the 24th annual Critics’ Choice Awards, picking up the three awards to add to its Emmy and Golden Globe hauls. Actresses Alex Borstein and Rachel Brosnahan picked up individual awards, while creator Amy-Sherman Palladino accepted for the show.

Funny as usual, she chided Brosnahan, who won for Critics’ Choice Television Award for Best Actress in a Comedy Series, for not thanking the critics earlier. “She’s sorry,” Sherman-Palladino apologized, then wished her mother a “happy birthday” and addressed Amazon while holding the award aloft. “The season three budget is coming to you this week, so remember this,” she warned the streaming service.

Some categories were presented off camera, which meant Borstein, Henry Winkler (“Barry”) and composer Justin Hurwitz (“First Man”) did not get to make their acceptance speeches for Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series, Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series and Best Score, respectively.

“The Americans” and “Crazy Rich Asians” were named best drama series and best movie comedy, respectively, and their Jewish producers Joe Weisberg and Joel Fields accepted for the former and Nina Jacobson, for the latter.

Producer Chuck Lorre, who currently has four series running (“The Big Bang Theory,” “Mom” and “Young Sheldon” on CBS and “The Kominsky Method” on Netflix) received the Critics’ Choice Creative Achievement Award, following a tribute by the “BBT” cast, who read from some of the end title vanity cards that Lorre is famous for.