fbpx

New Sephardic Temple President Has Big Ambitions

As the first woman elected president of the Sephardic Temple, Roxana Eli may have been congratulated a little differently than a man would have been.
[additional-authors]
January 12, 2023
Roxana Eli

As the first woman elected president of the Sephardic Temple, Roxana Eli may have been congratulated a little differently than a man would have been. In the days leading up to her formal inauguration on Jan. 15, “a lot of people have approached me,” quickly adding, “in a nice way.” 

“They say ‘You realize you are very young’ … You realize you have two young children’ … You work full time … Are you really ready for this?’”

Roxana (“call me Roxy”) shrugged. “One thing I can tell you about me: Becoming president does not scare me. I thrive living on the edge. After all, I am a trial attorney.”

What edge? “I work under pressure on a daily basis,” she said while standing behind the desk of her handsomely appointed Encino office.

Eli’s hearty laugh and brimming confidence are constants in her never-met-a-stranger personality. She lavished praise on her predecessor at the temple, Former President Raymond Yashouafar.

“Working alongside Raymond the last two years, being his senior vice president, he was hands-down phenomenal,” she said. “Great at everything he did. Extremely prompt in responding to everybody. He kept me in the loop on everything – that was the most important thing he did.”

Two years ago, Eli had a different attitude. “If someone had asked then, I would have been hesitant to accept the position of senior VP, which I knew led to the presidency.”