May 21, 2019

‘Mrs. Maisel’ Creator Amy Sherman-Palladino to Receive PGA Honor

70th ANNUAL PRIMETIME EMMY AWARDS -- Pictured: Amy Sherman-Palladino "Directing - Comedy Series for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel"during the 70th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards held at the Microsoft Theater on September 17th, 2018 -- (Photo by: Paul Drinkwater/NBC)

Amy Sherman-Palladino, the Emmy and Golden Globe-winning creator of “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” will soon add another award to her collection next month. The Producers Guild of America will honor her with the 2019 Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television at the 30th Annual Producers Guild Awards on Jan. 19 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

“Amy Sherman-Palladino is everything you want a TV producer to be. She’s smart, she’s tenacious, she knows the story she wants to tell and how to put together the right team to tell it,” said PGA Presidents Gail Berman and Lucy Fisher. “Her characters and stories may span different eras, but her sensibility is unique and unmistakable.  Watch any episode from one of her series for just five minutes, and you’ll instantly understand why she’s built such a wide and passionate following.”

Sherman-Palladino, who also created “Gilmore Girls” and “Bunheads,” follows previous recipients Ryan Murphy, Shonda Rhimes, Mark Gordon, Chuck Lorre, J.J. Abrams, Dick Wolf, Jerry Bruckheimer, Lorne Michaels, David L. Wolper, Aaron Spelling, Carsey/Werner/Mandabach, Steven Bochco, David E. Kelley, Mark Burnett, and Lear, himself in receiving the prestigious honor.