UN Security Council authorizes no-fly zone over Libya

The UN Security Council voted on Thursday to authorize a no-fly zone over Libya and “all necessary measures” – code for military action – to protect civilians against leader Muammar Gaddafi’s forces.

Ten of the council’s 15 member states voted in favor of the resolution, with Russia, China and Germany the five that abstained. There were no votes against the resolution, which was co-sponsored by France, Britain, Lebanon and the United States.

France had tried to garner enough support Thursday for a unanimous vote on the no-fly zone, however in the end five abstained.

Read more at Haaretz.com.