fbpx

Celebrating Tu b’Av With a ‘Potlove’ Dinner

[additional-authors]
August 3, 2018
Attendees of Potlove, a Tu b’Av potluck, enjoyed dairy and vegetarian food and wine at a Beverly Hills home. Photo by Ryan Torok

Mindy Bacola is a 33-year-old flight attendant from Hollywood. Always on the go (literally), she rarely has the time to date, let alone have a serious romantic relationship. So last Friday night, she turned out for Potlove, a singles potluck for Jews in their 20s and 30s that took place on Tu b’Av, a minor Jewish holiday akin to Valentine’s Day.

“It’s not just my job. We’re all busy people,” she said, explaining why events like the potluck were necessary. “If I was an attorney, I’d still be busy, wouldn’t I? I think no matter what, it is hard to meet people.”

Bacola was one of approximately 100 young professionals who attended the event held in the backyard of the Beverly Hills home of Sinai Temple Sisterhood Co-President Leslie Wachtel. Atid, the young professionals arm of Sinai Temple, organized the gathering, one of the group’s most popular annual events.

The full moon shone above Wachtel’s pool as many people kicked off their heels and dress shoes and dipped their toes in the heated water. Attendees lined up for dairy dishes and sipped red and white wines and beer. The free event asked for people to bring either an entrée, an appetizer, a dessert or a wine. 

Many dressed in white, which is a tradition on Tu b’Av dating back to the talmudic period, when single women wore white as they ventured into the fields to meet their beshert (soulmate) on Tu b’Av. Women, regardless of their socio-economic background, dressed in simple clothing so that the men would not know what kind of family they came from. 

At the Potlove event, Sinai Temple Millennial Director Matt Baram said that obscuring who comes from wealth and who does not is an idea that resonates in today’s dating scene, which often sees people getting together for the wrong reasons.