fbpx

Millennial Entrepreneur Creates Kosher Kitsch

[additional-authors]
April 18, 2018
Shira Jacobson. Photo courtesy of Shira Jacobson.

When Shira Jacobson made aliyah to Jerusalem three years ago, she was looking for Jewish artwork with a modern twist that she could hang in her new home. Not finding anything that spoke to her, she decided to create her own.

“I closed my eyes and imagined artwork that I wished to wake up and see every morning,” Jacobson, 24, said in an email interview. “I envisioned designs that would empower me to pursue my Jewish lifestyle through true joy and meaning.”

A self-taught graphic designer, the Laguna Beach native then came up with 15 posters that she used to decorate her home. When she had guests over, they would ask for copies. “After the hundredth guest asked for a copy of my art, I made an online store and started selling my work to the masses,” she said.

That online store is called Kosher Swag, and it sells kitschy shirts, aprons and art for men, women and babies to customers worldwide. The clothing is adorned with phrases like, “Sugar Tatty,” “Wake Up. Kick Tuchass. Repeat,” and “Coffee First Schmooze Later.” The artwork features Hebrew words, animals and a matzo ball soaking in soup with the word “Ballin’ ” above it.

Jacobson runs the business full time and has nearly 4,000 Facebook followers and 12,000 Instagram followers. She’s also held pop-up shops in Los Angeles, Brooklyn and Monsey, N.Y. “I definitely see Kosher Swag maintaining a global presence,” she said. “There are many remarkable countries around the world [that] order Kosher Swag, from New Zealand to South America. The way I see it is, if enough people want to see a pop-up shop happen in their community, I will be happy to make it possible.”